Behavioral Health Recognition Dinner

Celebrating the Behavioral Health Community of San Diego County

Awards & Award Categories 

We are excited to announce the winners of the 2018 Behavioral Recognition Dinner Awards!!

Please note that the Behavioral Health Recognition Dinner Committee has no role in determination of winners.  A group of readers is solicited representing the demographics of San Diego County to ensure fairness of the nomination forms.

Administrative Support Staff can be an individual within clerical, medical records, technical or information services support for example. Norma Consuelo Crespo, Crestwood Behavioral Health

Case Manager can be an individual acting in a case manager role regardless of title. Lisa Thurston, LCSW, GS, Mental Health Systems, Inc.

Clinician includes physicians, social workers, psychologists, therapists and nurses. Maysun Khan, MSW, Community Research Foundation

First Responder recognizes the role of law enforcement, fire fighters, and paramedics.  Officer John Janda, PERT Team, Oceanside Police Department

Manager refers to a Program Manager or Director, Program or Service Administrator not involved in direct care. Kenna Mauhili, Psy.D., Community Research Foundation

Media is a more recent category including print, radio or television reporting which presents an accurate, compassionate and dignified view of behavioral health issues.  None

Outpatient Services focuses on a staff member providing direct care in settings that could include day treatment, partial hospitalization, or clinics.  Nicole Heyer, BSW, Sharp Mesa Vista

24-Hour Treatment Facility recognizes any program or staff member providing direct care to children, adults, or older adults in a 24-hour treatment facility. START Programs, Community Research Foundation

Self-Help highlights clubhouse staff, consumers or advocates for self-help programs and/or a self-help program. Daniel-Austin Kasperick, NAMI North Coastal & Mariposa Clubhouse

Service Support includes home aides, housekeepers, maintenance workers, transportation, and security staff. Alfred Johnson, Alvarado Parkway Institute

Housing awards staff or facilities, such as supportive housing, independent living, residential care facilities, group or foster homes, transitional housing, or from housing coalitions. Ruby's House

Vocational or Educational Support focuses on a staff or program, including peer and family educators, job coaches, etc.  Ruth MacDonald, CADC II, Community Research Foundation

Volunteer recognizes an adult, older adult, transitional age youth or children’s behavioral health program.  None

Behavioral Health Person of the Year nominee is a critical award and the individual nominated may represent adult, older adult, transitional age youth or children’s behavioral health services, and the clients, families, or the community at large. They may be nominated for their collective body of work.  This award highlights a large and longstanding contribution to improving the behavioral health services offered throughout San Diego County.  Walter Phillips, San Diego Youth Services